Double Duties for Young Emmanuel Stewart.

Emmanuel Stewart
Emmanuel Stewart

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada, July 3, 2015 – Four Grenadians Emmanuel Stewart, Ryan John, Anil Matthew and Jonathan Taylor have been selected on the 13-man Windward Islands Under 19 Squad with Johann Jeremiah and Daniel McDonald as reserves.

The selection comes following the completion of the Windward Islands Under 19 tournament that was held in Dominica and saw St. Vincent and the Grenadines emerge as 2015 Champions.

Emmanuel Stewart was best batsman for the tournament having scored 175 runs while Anil Matthew was the best wicket-keeper with 11 dismissals.

Captain Ryan John’s 11 wickets and 135 runs earned him the Most Valuable Player award for team Grenada.

One of the first timers to the Windward Islands Under 19 Team Emmanuel Stewart is quite elated to have been selected. “It feels very encouraging knowing that I’m young and I have three more years in the category. I’m very happy with my performances that got me into the Windward Islands Under 19 team and also happy to have been Grenada’s team which aided my performances to be selected.”

Looking ahead to the Under 19 Tournament, Stewart was quite cautious in his expectations: “Well I don’t really want to say anything now about the expectations because I’m that kind of person that’s going to take one step at a time and try not to rush anything. I have a tournament before this one, so my focus will be on there for the time. But nevertheless I’m feeling good about myself, my cricket and my form so I just got to apply the basic where ever I go and be patient as possible.”

The full Windward Islands Under 19 Squad reads:

Captain – Kershaski Jno Lewis (Dominica)

Vice Captain – Dornan Edwards (St. Lucia)

Wicket-keeper – Anil Matthew (Grenada)

Emmanuel Stewart (Grenada)

Ryan John (Grenada)

Jonathan Taylor (Grenada)

Kyle Cabey (Dominica)

Joshua Challenger (Dominica)

Josiah Hilton (Dominica)

Johnel Eugene (St. Lucia)

Gidron Pope (SVG)

Obed McCoy (SVG)

Othneil Lewis (SVG)

Romario Pierre (SVG)

The team will be managed by Irvin Warrican of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and coached by Walter Emmanuel (St. Lucia).

Meanwhile, Emmanuel Stewart who is also captain of the Windward Islands Under 17 Team for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Under 17 Tournament July 6 to 16 in Tobago will leave the island on Saturday to join the rest of the team in Tobago.

Stewart says he is quite ready for the challenge ahead. “I always try and maintain a positive mindset both on and off the field and I think that has been a key aspect of me being successful as a player and as a captain. I’ll be very calm with my players and I know we are going to apply what we know, have fun and win our games!”

Barbados are the defending champions of the Regional under 17 tournament.

After the end of this tournament on July 16, Stewart is expected to join the Under 19 team for the Regional tournament which starts four days later (July 20) in Jamaica.

©2015 SpiceIsleSportsReview

Leave a Reply

