Stewart and Jeremiah spur Windwards to comprehensive win in Regional Under 17 Tournament

Emmanuel and Johann Jeremiah
Emmanuel and Johann Jeremiah

TOBAGO, July 7, 2015 – It was a good day for two Grenadian cricketers on Tuesday, as they performed well with both bat and ball to guide the Windward Islands Under 17 team to a big win over Defending champions Barbados in their first match of the Regional Under 17 Tournament being played in Tobago.

Having won the toss and electing to bat, the Windwards posted 231 for 4 in their allotted 50 overs with captain Emmanuel Stewart left unbeaten on 103. His knock consisted of 7 fours and 2 sixes in 124 balls at a strike rate of 83.06.

Stewart was quite please with his performance but is still aiming to improve in the upcoming games.

The other Grenadian in the team Johann Jeremiah only managed right runs at the crease.

Chasing 232 for victory, Barbados could only must 119 in 37.4 overs. Johann Jeremiah was the pick of the bowlers having bagged four for 3 in his 3.4 overs with an economy rate of 0.82.

Speaking to Spice Isle Sports Review, Jeremiah was says “going in to the game I was just saying to myself that I need to perform at my best. I went out there and backed myself, stuck to the basics and stayed positive. I didn’t get much runs but I made up for it in the bowling department”

This is the first time Jeremiah is playing with the Regional squad and he is hopeful of a better performance come next game. “I feel very proud of myself, looking forward to go into the next game stronger both in my batting and bowling. It is my first year and I want to remain focus and make an early impression.”

The Windward Islands Under 17 will meet Guyana in their second match of the tournament.

©2015 SpiceIsleSportsReview

Leave a Reply

