Emmanuel Stewart selected to Grenada’s Senior Cricket Team for upcoming tournament.

Emmanuel Stewart posing with Winners Trophy and Best Batsman Trophy
Emmanuel Stewart posing with Winners Trophy and Best Batsman Trophy from 2015 Regional Under 17 Tournament

ST GEORGE’S, August 2, 2015 – Fifteen year old Emmanuel Stewart is one of three newcomers named in the Grenada National Senior Cricket Team for the 2015 Windward Islands Cricket Two Day Tournament scheduled for St. Vincent and the Grenadines from August 20 to 27.

Stewart, who captained the Windward Islands Under 17 team to victory in the recently concluded Regional Under 17 Tournament is the second cricketer from the sister-isle of Carriacou to gain selection to the Senior Team, first being Devon Jones.

Windward Islands all-rounder Ryan John and fast bowler Craig Phillip are the other two newcomers.

Commenting on Stewart’s selection to the team, Secretary of the Carriacou United Cricket Board Andy “Leftist” Matheson says this speaks well for cricket on the sister isle. “It is a very proud moment for him and his family and indeed all of us here in Carriacou. We extend our sincerest congratulations to Emanuel on this huge accomplishment, he has worked hard thus far in his cricketing career and we pray that he continues on the path he has started. Hopefully this is just a continuation of his climb to his ultimate gold of wearing the Maroon colours of the West Indies in the near future. His selection will open doors for more of our players to strive to emulate him and it shows that hard work and discipline do indeed pay off.”

Meanwhile Craig Phillip says he is ready for the challenge of being a part of the senior team. “Feels normal since I travel last year and previous years with the under 19, so it’s like a continuation but jus at a higher level. My aim is to stay focus, keep doing well and try to gain selection on the Windwards Team”.

The full squad reads:

Devon Smith (Captain), Andre Fletcher (Vice-Captain), Herron Campbell, Nickozi St. Hillaire, Roland Cato, Emmanuel Stewart, Denis Smith (Wicket-keeper), Denis George, Deron Hypolite, Ryan John, Nelon Pascal, Josh Thomas, Craig Phillip.

©2015 SpiceIsleSportsReview


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s