Smith and Stewart dominate batting on opening day of Windwards Senior Cricket Tournament.

Left: Emmanuel Stewart, Right: Devon Smith right.
Left: Emmanuel Stewart, Right: Devon Smith right.

ARNOS VALE, August 20, 2015 – Grenada goes into day two of the Windward Islands Senior Two Day Cricket Tournament with a lead of 278 runs over host St. Vincent and the Grenadines, thanks to a brilliant century and half century by West Indies opening batsman Devon Smith and Emmanuel Stewart respectively.

Having lost the toss, Grenada were sent in to bat and posted 292 in 99.3 overs.

Captain Devon Smith scored 147 runs in his knock at the crease. His runs came off 265 balls and included 16 fours.

Under 19 player Emmanuel Stewart contributed with 54 runs off 135 balls with 5 fours and 1 six.

It was very challenging reaching the land mark under some of the region’s best bowlers. It showed that I am really capable of great things says young Stewart to Spice Isle Sports Review.

“I started of slow but then I got into things and built a solid innings for my team. My team was in some trouble and needed a partnership and thanks to “Smitty” for his continued support throughout my innings and also for his well-played century. All I wanted to do coming into this tournament was to bat whenever I got the opportunity and give out my best and hopefully it will benefit the team in a positive way. It’s my first fifty at the senior level and my debut as well so it’s an important one out of the 31 I’ve got thus far.”

Stewart is the second youngest cricketer to play for Grenada’s Senior team.

Dennis Smith’s 33, Ryan John’s 23 and Herron Campbell’s 20 were valuable contributions to the score.

Kenneth Denbar bagged four for 54.

In reply St. Vincent and the Grenadines ended the day on 34 for one. Nelon Pascal is the lone wicket taker with one for eight.

The second day bowls off at 9:30 am

©2015 SpiceIsleSportsReview

Leave a Reply

