St. Andrew goes for consecutive Under 19 Cricket Title

St. Andrew Under 19 2015

ST. GEORGE’S, April 6, 2016 – It will be an all out battle on Friday in the final of the Republic Bank/Grenada Cricket Association (GCA) Under 19 Cricket Tournament at Progress Park.

Defending Champions St. Andrew will meet rivals St. David following contrasting results in semi-finals action.

St. Andrew booked their spot following an eight wicket victory over St. George at Progress Park in what was a repeat of last year’s final.

Batting first St. George were dismissed for 113 in 37.4 overs.

Jenson Mitchell scored 14 runs while pick of the bowlers were Shakim Charles 2/9, Heston Jackson 2/19 and Dwayne Walcott 2/22.

St. Andrew got to their target 114 in 26 overs losing two wickets in the process.

Player of the Match Anil Matthew top scored with 59 not out (7 sixes) with help from Donald McDonald 27 not out. Narun Singh bagged 2 for 37.

At the National Stadium St. David got the better of St. Patrick by 8 wickets to advance to the final.

St. Patrick posted 84 all out in 22.5 overs with Michael Richards and Lenroy Charles top scoring on 14 runs.

Pick of the bowlers were Todd Mitchell 3/26 and Darel Cyrus 3/22.

in reply St. David got to 87 for 3 in 16.5 overs.

Player of the Match Markim Felix top scored on 52 not out; Lenroy Charles bagged 2/21.

St. Andrew will go into Friday’s contest slight favorites having in their lineup the leader run scorer for the tournament Anil Matthew along with National Under 19 representatives Johann Jeremiah (captain) and Jonathon Taylor.

St. David will be equally confident with West Indies Under 19 player Ryan John (captain) along with Camron Augustine and Darel Cyrus.

The final is expected to bowl off at 9:30 am and will see a Right Start Bowl-off competition among Secondary School students both male and female.


St. Andrew

  1. Johann Jeremiah (Captain)
  2. Anil Matthew
  3. Shakim Charles
  4. Heston Jackson
  5. Donald Mc Donald
  6. Dwayne Walcott
  7. Lorn Wickham
  8. Darren Nedd
  9. Ricardo Murray
  10. Shermille Lewis
  11. Jonathon Taylor
  12. Calvin Blache
  13. Jonathon Welsh
St. David

  1. Ryan John (Captain)
  2. Jovin Williams
  3. Sharkim Edwards
  4. Camron Augustine
  5. Kem Charles
  6. Darel Cyrus
  7. Azim Noel
  8. Ricardo Hall
  9. Todd Mitchell
  10. Richard Rogers
  11. Quacy Bahgwan
  12. Kimo Peters
  13. Lindon Williams



©2016 SpiceIsleSportsReview


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s