Johann Jeremiah on a cricket journey to 2018.

img_20160412_172044.jpgST. GEORGE’S, April 13, 2016 – As the curtains came down on the Massy United Insurance Secondary Schools’ Cricket Tournament, most persons were focused on the first time champions Grenada Christian Academy.

Lost in the excitement of the moment was the tremendous batting exploits of one of Grenada’s Under 19 cricketer and captain of Presentation Brothers College (PBC) Johann Jeremiah.

At the prize giving ceremony for the Schools’ cricket, Jeremiah picked up the awards for Batsman with the most runs (475 runs), highest individual score (219 runs) and also double centurion (219 and 134 runs).

Speaking to SISR, Jeremiah was quite happy with his performance but says there is still room for improvement.

“I came into the schools’ tournament confident and that pushed me to do well and the end result was encouraging.”

The young cricketer says he has a three year goal in mind and he’s using all the local tournaments as stepping stones to shape his path forward.

“My season so far is going very well. I have set goals and thus far I am achieving most of them. My aim is to make the West Indies Under 19 team for the 2018 World Cup and I started off with schools’ cricket and was able to come out with the most runs.”

Despite his team did not reach the final of the tournament, he is happy with the work put out.

“I know we didn’t  make it to the finals, that did not break me. As captain i did my best and gave my all being able to get runs and getting those three awards sums it all up.”

The young cricketer also captained St. Andrew Under 19 cricket team who were runners-up in the recently concluded parish tournament and thou he was not consistent he believes that there is progress.

“I still have a lot of room for improvement so I’m working towards that on a daily basis. This is just the beginning from me, there is a lot more to come” says a confident Jeremiah.

Johann Jeremiah has been selected once again on a 19 man training squad for Grenada’s Under 19 Team which will compete at the Windward Islands Tournament in the upcoming months.

 

©2016 SpiceIsleSportsReview

Leave a Reply

