Mac Donald College retains title in Republic Bank Right Start Youth Football!

10689458_10152288837026073_8600853969445798312_nST. GEORGE’S, December 1, 2019 – It was a sweet two-peat for Mac Donald College (MDC) on Wednesday but after having to work hard for it, in the Republic Bank Right Start Youth Football Tournament Under 21 Division.

In the last game of a triple-header finals at the National Athletics Stadium, MDC defeated St. John’s Christian Secondary School (SJCSS) 6-5 on penalty kicks after playing out a stalemate in regulation and extra time.

MDC joins Happy Hill Secondary School (HHSS) as the only schools to have won the Under 21 Title two consecutive years.

Mac Donald College walked away with medals, a winner’s trophy and Five Thousand Dollar ($5,000.).

As runner-up SJCSS received medals, trophy and Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars.

Jose Mc Intosh (MDC) walked away with the award for Best Defender and Most Valuable Player in the Under 21 while the Golden Boot Award went to Rahim Stephen (GBSS).

Jeremy Richardson (GCA) was the Best Goalkeeper, Rickel Charles (HHSS) Best Midfielder and Best Forward went to Romar Frank (HHSS).

Meanwhile in the second game of the triple-header, Happy Hill Secondary School (HHSS) were dethroned as Female Under 21 champions after losing to St. Andrew’s Anglican Secondary School (SAASS) 3-2.

Kadisha Rennie opened the scoring for SAASS in the 10′ before Niesha Modeste made it 2-nil in the 45′.

HHSS pulled one back in the 58′ of play when Treasha Valdin netted to make the score 2-1.

Tournament MVP Kadisha Rennie completed her brace in the 64′ to send SAASS up 3-1 before Golden Boot Award winner Roneisha Frank netted for HHSS to pull one back which was not enough as SAASS went on to win their first title in any category.

St. Andrew’s Anglican Secondary School walked away with medals, trophy and Three Thousand Dollars ($3,000.) while HHSS received medals, trophy and One Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,500.)

Sabrina Rennie (SAASS) picked up the award for Best Goalkeeper with Abigaile Abuwame (SJCSG) Best Defender.

Westmorland Secondary School’s Malia Ramdhanny was he Best Mid Fielder while Roneisha Frank was adjudged Best Forward.

In the earlier game of the day, St. Mark’s Secondary School (SMSS) won their second Under 15 title after defeating Boca Secondary School (BSS) 2-nil.

SMSS received medals, trophy and Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.) for their efforts while BSS walked away with medals, trophy and One Thousand Dollars ($1,000).

Best Goalkeeper went to Xavier Archer (WMSS) while team-mate Michael Berkley was Best Defender.

Alwyn Coxie (BSS) was Best Mid-fielder with Ronaldo St. Louis picking up the awards for Best Forward, Golden Boot and MVP.

This year a total of 23 secondary schools have registered to participate. 15 teams in the Under 21 boys category; 19 teams in the Under 15 boys category; and 12 teams in the Under 21/open girls category.


©2016 SpiceIsleSportsReview


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s