Christopher Alexis Jr rides away with 2016 National Cycling Title!

15179058_1014110532034527_1694413934502807304_nST. GEORGE’S, December 6, 2016 – Young Grenadian Cyclist Christoper Alexis Jr is continuing to make a name for himself in cycling; this time after winning the Grenada Cycling Federation’s (GCF) National Cycling Championships.

The 40-mile event which was held on November 27 saw the riders complete three (3) laps from Maurice Bishop Highway to Maurice Bishop International Airport to Burns Point Roundabout and back to Maurice Bishop Highway and one (1) lap from the MB Highway to the Airport returning to Sugarmill Roundabout.

At the end of the ride it was Alexis Jr who crossed the line first in 1:53:36 ahead of Tessimy Viechweg (+6 secs) who was the 2014 champion. Raquel Seecharran (+ 13 secs) was in third.

This is Christopher Alexis’ second year in the Elite/Senior Class and was runner-up to Viechweg in the 2014 Championships after winning the Junior category the previous year.

Alexis believes  that his experience gained in two recently concluded events helped him in the local event.

“Although I wasn’t prepared as I should be for the race because of having started my off-season training after returning from Guyana, however the experience I gained there enable me to race with a strategy to put me in a very good position to win the race.”

“Once I started feeling comfortable, I waited for the perfect opportunity to launch an attack which was on the last lap to Burns Point roundabout. My intentions wasn’t to stay out there by myself until the finish, rather it was to have the other contenders chasing which would make it easier for me in the last 5 miles of the race. I was able to maintain of lead for approximately half the race lap which translates into 6 miles.”

It has been a busy year for the young rider and he looks forward to better results come next year.

“I’m quite happy with the result after all that I’ve invested in the last five months of training. I would like to say thanks for all the support throughout to last couple months especially from my Dad, Rocky Seecharran and corporate companies such as the NLA and Beacon Insurance who made it possible for me to compete in Guyana which was instrumental in my performance at nationals.”

Meanwhile in the 40+ category Raquel Seecharran was the winner after the other competitor Troy Felix was unable to finish.

 

©2016 SpiceIsleSportsReview

Leave a Reply

